Skip to content

Last Child in the Woods – Introduction

August 10, 2011

Today I started listening to Last Child in the Woods by Richard Louv.  This books has long been on my shelf, but I haven’t gotten around to reading it.  I downloaded the audio book, and am planning on listening to it whenever I am alone with the boys.

So far, I am very excited.  I grew up running through woods and streams in Texas.  I collected turtle shells and animal skulls.  I built forts with friends.  I loved every moment of it.  The idea of my children not having the same experiences makes me sad.

Luckily, there is a creek across the street from our house and National Parks within a few hours drive that I hope to get back to soon.  I look forward to exploring and camping with our kids.

I am hoping that this book will help cement my commitment to exposing my kids on a regular, if not daily, basis to real nature.  We will, of course, go out in our yard whenever the weather lets us.  We go to parks weekly.  Visiting true nature, however, is harder.  It takes commitment and determination, both I which I hope to have.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 8:20 pm

    I hope you are doing well on your reading/listening. I am half way through “Last Child in the Woods” and plan to do a recap/summary of it when I finish (I’m taking notes). Anyhow, I read Mr.Louv’s book “The Nature Principle” and just posted my recap of that book if you’re interested.
    http://theeducationcafe.wordpress.com/2011/09/22/the-nature-zone/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

