Skip to content

Resisting Temptation

May 20, 2011

I gave in and weighed myself this morning.  Luckily, I liked what I saw, but I am sad that I gave in to temptation.  I am trying not to beat myself up, though, because no one is perfect.  I am currently fighting the urge to measure myself.  I just get such satisfaction when I see the numbers get smaller, but I know that this is focusing on the wrong part of my exercise journey.  Instead I should be happy about how well my run yesterday went or how satisfying my workout was today.  I can definitely feel myself getting stronger and my endurance has increased quite a bit.  I am slowly returning to my old athletic self, and that should be the goals that I am focusing on, not the numbers.  I am hoping that as I continue to resist the lure of the numbers it will get easier and easier to focus on exercise in a healthy way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 6:24 am

    Just came across your post on tag surfer and wanted to say best of luck to you.

  2. May 20, 2011 6:44 am

    You should be celebrating at how well you are doing! Weighing yourself does not take away your increased strength and endurance.

    • May 25, 2011 5:57 am

      You are so right! I am trying to celebrate my success and being reminded does make it easier. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

