Skip to content

Sorrow and Concern

May 27, 2011

This afternoon I received the horrible news that a cousin of mine took her own life last week.  She had long suffered from depression and an eating disorder.  The pain that she must have been suffering brings me such sorrow.  The pain that her family is suffering brings me even more sorrow.  I wish that such illnesses did not exist.

This news has also brought to the surface some of my concerns for my own children.  Mental illnesses, including depression, eating disorders, and substance abuse, are very prevalent in my family.  I, myself, suffered from depression in high school as a result of family circumstances, a bad break up, and as a side effect from the pill.  I NEVER want my children to suffer from mental illness.  I know that a genetic factor exists, but I pray that my and my husband’s parenting can over come genetics.  I pray that I can be strong and make good choices in the way that I parent that will help my children be as strong as they can be.  I know that I cannot control the future, that worrying about it does no good, and that all I can do is my best.

Still, my heart hurts for what my family is suffering and I hope that time heals my family’s wounds.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

