Skip to content

The Scale

June 13, 2011

I am currently in a love/hate relationship with my scale.  Almost every morning I step on it fearing that the numbers will have gone up.  So far I have lost just over 10 pounds, but for weeks the numbers on the scale didn’t change at all.  During those weeks I struggled with a bunch of emotions and thoughts.

Frustration.  I was eating healthy and working out, so why wasn’t the scale moving?  How many calories do I have to cut to lose weight?

Joy.  The numbers weren’t going up!  And I was liking what I was eating and drinking!

Sadness.  I still don’t fit into my clothes and the numbers aren’t dropping.

Happiness.  At least I know that when I reach my goal weight I can eat and drink well and not gain weight.

Desperation.  I really want to lose this weight.

My scale is currently in stuck-mode again, and I really don’t know what I think about it.  I know why it is stuck.  I am eating too much dairy and grains, plus drinking too much wine and beer.  I am not working out enough.  I know that I can fix these things, so I am not feeling all the emotions I felt last time around.

I am feeling something new, though.  Disappointment.  Disappointment in myself.  I know what I need to do to lose weight, yet I am not doing it.  Why not?  Sheer laziness and lack of desire to make the sacrifices.

This week I am going to get back on track.  I have to.  I am going on vacation next week and I know that I am going to be eating in a way that the scale will not like.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 3:51 pm

    Join the club! I don’t think that I know anyone who doesn’t feel that way about half of the time (myself included). ~hug~
    Enjoy your vacation! :), Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

Leave a Reply

