Skip to content

My Not-So-New Favorite Book

June 29, 2011

This is why I reread books.  No matter how many times you may have read it before, a good book can reveal new parts of itself if you read it in a new time and place.

I have read The Secret Garden many times before, but the last time was many years ago.  The other night I began reading it again to PlumGirl as she fell asleep.  As soon as I began reading it, I could not put it down.  The magic of the book had caught me.

Reading The Secret Garden as a mother was an entirely new experience.  I saw everything in a whole new light, the sorrow of a child neglected, the joy of freedom in childhood, and most of all the Magic of nature.  As I was reading I became excited about teaching PlumGirl and the PlumTwins about the joy of growing things.

The most meaningful part of the book for me was the theme of positive thoughts.  I have long battled with letting negative thoughts overwhelm me and I was not expecting The Secret Garden to help me with this battle.  The reminder of the power of focusing on the postive was one I desperately needed.

“Much more surprising things can happen to anyone who, when a disagreeable or discouraged thought comes into his mind, just has the sense to remember in time and push it out by putting in an agreeable, determinedly courageous one.   Two things cannot be in one place.

Where you tend a rose,

a thistle cannot grow.”

~Frances Hodgson Burnett, The Secret Garden

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

